- 1. The meeting was opened by Ali Mirzakhalili, WESTAR President; and Randy Ashley, Confederate Salish, Pend d'Oreilles and Kootenai Tribes and Nancy Vehr, WRAP Co-Chairs.
- 2. The Business meeting began with committee and organization status reports:

Business and Organizational Activities

- Staff Reports (Jay Baker, Jeff Gabler, WESTAR-WRAP)
- Committee reports (Weston Carloss, <u>Planning Committee</u>; Kristen Martin, <u>Technical Committee</u>)
- Upcoming Meetings and Events (Mary Uhl)
- Financial report (Kathy Taylor, Treasurer)
- 4. The afternoon of the first day of the meeting started with a session on wildfire smoke:
 - <u>Health Effects of Wildland Fire-related Air Pollution</u> (Aimen Farraj, EPA Office of Research and Development)
 - Impacts of Climate Change and Wildfires-Health Effects of Smoke Exposure (Dr. Christopher Migliaccio, University of Montana)
 - Smoke Research: Prescribed Fire, Recreational Burning and Smoke Monitoring (Shawn Urbanski, USDA FS)
- 5. Followed by a session on regional haze planning for the 3rd planning period:

Regional Haze Planning for 3rd planning period

- Western Visibility Protection Planning Initiative Overview (Jay Baker, WESTAR)
- Visibility Initiative preliminary interview findings, discussion, and next steps (Susan Hayward, Tim Larson, Ross Strategic)
- 6. The final session of the first day covered residential woodheating:
 - Wood Stoves: Identifying Clean Appliances and Emission Estimates (Nick Czarnecki, Alaska DEC)
 - EPA OAQPS update on woodstove certifications (Stef Johnson, EPA OAQPS)
- 7. The second day of the meeting started with the OAQPS update:

 OAQPS Update (Scott Mathias and Chet Wayland, EPA)

- 8. Followed by a roundtable discussion of EJ measures:
 - Roundtable questions
- 9. The final session of the morning covered the CASAC and NAAQS review process:

CASAC and the NAAQS review process: how it works and update of current reviews (George Allen, NESCAUM and O₃/Pb CASAC review panel member)

10. The final session of the day covered the recent Supreme Court decision on air regulations from a utility perspective:

<u>Air Regulations and the Supreme Court: A Utility Perspective</u> (Ellie Dawson, Crowell and Moring LLP, outside legal counsel to EEI on environmental issues)

11. Meeting participants toured the USDA FS Fire Lab in Missoula for the remainder of the afternoon.

•

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 pm MDT on September 8.

Participants:

WESTAR and WRAP members

Tim Allen, FWS

Alicia Adams, CARB

Mary Anderson, ID DEQ

Randy Ashley, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes

Laura Ballard, WY DEO

Michael Benjamin, CARB

Bryce Bird, UT DEQ

Mark Boyle, ID DEQ

Kevin Briggs, ID DEQ

Carl Brown, ID DEQ

Weston Carloss, CDPHE

Becky Close, UT DAQ

Sarah Coefield, Missoula County

Jen Croft, USFS

Forrest Cook, BLM

Charis Cooper, BLM

Nick Czarnecki, AK DEC

Daniel Czecholinski, AZ DEQ

Matthew Davis, OR DEQ

Rob Dengel, WA DOE

Danilo Dragoni, NV DEP

Barbara Escobar, Pima County DEQ

Mary Fauci, Nez Perce Tribe

Rebekka Fine, CARB

Tiffany Floyd, ID DEQ

Melissa Gibbs, ID DEQ

Elizabeth Grainey, NV DEP

Rick Graw, USFS

Ali Grove, Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua, and Siuslaw Indians

Martha Hankins, WA DOE

Aislinn Johns, ID DEQ

Mark Jones, NMED

Moses Jordan, Kenaitze Indian Tribe

Mel Joseph, LPPSR

Garrison Kaufman, CDPHE

Kirsten King, NPS

Jonathan Law, Quinault Nation

Melissa Maestas, SCAQMD

Zachary Mangin, WY DEQ

Tina Mann, Kokhanok Village

Kristen Martin, OR DEQ

Brandon McGuire, MT DEQ

Pleas McNeel, USFS

Steve Miller, ID DEQ

Ali Mirzakhalili, OR DEQ

Cory Mitchell, MT DEQ

Tom Moore, CDPHE

Theresa Najita, CARB

Aaron Ofseyer, MT DEQ

Jason Olds, ADEC

Rupesh Patel, Pima County DEQ

Joe Perreira, NV DEP

Melanie Peters, NPS

Darla Potter, WY DEQ

Amber Potts, WY DEQ

Anita Rose, USFS

Marianne Rossio, HI Dept of Health

Owen Rudloff, OR DEQ

Emma Ruppell, Bishop Paiute Tribe

Ben Schmidt, Missoula County

Jim Semerad, ND DEQ

Julie Simpson, Nez Perce Tribe

Elizabeth Sorells, USFS

Richard Stedman, Monterey Bay Air District

Jeffrey Stocum, OR DEQ

David Stroh, ND DEQ

Kathy Taylor, WA DOE

Barbara Trost, AK DEC

Andrew Tucker, NV DEP

Kasia Turkiewicz, CARB

Liz Ulrich, MT DEQ

Shawn Urbanski, USFS

Nancy Vehr, WY DEQ

John Vimont, NPS

Jason Walker, Shoshone Bannock Tribe

Tyler Ward, WY DEQ

Pascale Warren, ID DEQ

Jill Webster, USFS

Erik White, Placer County APCD

Bo Wilkins, MT DEQ

EPA:

Clayton Bean, R8

Gina Bonifacino, R10

Amanda Brimmer, R8

Ethan Brown, R8

Julia Carlstad, R9

Francisco Donez, R9

Christi Duboiski, Washington Operations Office

Adam Eisele, R8

Aimen Farraj, ORD

James Harren, R9

Shaye Hong, R9

Robert Kotchenruther, R10

Kimberly Mak, R9

Erin McTigue, R10

Beth Palma, OAQPS

Idalia Perez, R9

Chet Wayland, OAQPS

Scott Mathias, OAQPS

Gail Tonnesen, R8 William Tsui, R9 Krishna Viswanathan, R10 Lindsay Wickersham, R9 Gwen Yoshimura, R9

WESTAR staff:

Mary Uhl Rhonda Payne Jackie Gadret Jay Baker Jeff Gabler

Others:

George Allen, NESCAUM
Victoria Clemons, Oregon Health Authority
Elizabeth Dawson, Crowell and Moring, LLP
Susan Hayman, Ross Strategic
Tim Larson, Ross Strategic
Chris Migliaccio, University of Montana
Mariana Ramirez, Ross Strategic
Carol Trenga, Oregon Health Authority